The Invisible Man

IMDB

(James Whale, 1933)

Viewed this courtesy of Svengoolie, who is a Chicago staple and longtime horror host. Rich Koz, the current Svengoolie, is extremely knowledgable about films, particularly the Universal horror movies from the 30s and 40s. Like Elvira, his jokes are completely lame, but it’s all in good fun and gives monster movies a forum.

There used to be many more hosts like Sven, but sadly, they’ve fallen out of favor, just like classic movies on network television. Although I was pretty young, I remember seeing commercials for Chiller Theater with Chilly Billy Cardille in Pittsburgh (notable for NOT wearing monster makeup), who actually appeared in the original Night of the Living Dead, shot in western PA. A bit of trivia: Cardille is the host that inspired Joe Flaherty’s character Count Floyd on SCTV.

Thanks to Sven, I finally caught up with James Whale’s horror classic. Claude Rains has the difficult task of acting undercover as well as doing voicework for his rarely seen madman. Yes, there’s some hokey stuff with things being knocked off tables and the like, but Rains makes it memorable, and Whale keeps it believable and truly chilling.

Breezy, entertaining monster flick that makes you ponder the notion of invisibility, especially in the middle of an all-day meeting with your boss.

4.0/5.0

Posted on August 26, 2008, in Film log, Nostalgia and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh, I just looked for this on YouTube and couldn’t find it, alas, but one of the funniest things I’ve ever seen is Count Floyd hosting what he thinks is going to be a very scary movie and then discovering it’s a (hilarious) parody black-and-white Bergman movie (starring Andrea Martin and Catherine O’Hara, I think, with tight shots from above of their two faces, which occasionally have upside-down faces doodled on the chins, as they spout “profound” dialogue).

    “What was that?! That wasn’t scary. And Count Floyd scares very easily!”

    As I remember, this segment was immediately followed by John Candy in “Dr. Tongue’s 3D House of Beef” repeatedly thrusting a can of Chef Boyardee at the camera while making scary eyebrow faces. Awesome!

    All hail Comedy Central’s rerun schedule in the mid-’90s!

  2. I had the SCTV/Bergman video linked before, but now it’s gone.

  3. Serves me right for not reading through all your archives! :-)

  4. Boy do I miss classic SCTV. Here’s the Count Floyd “Whispers of the Wolf” video.

  5. My mother thanks you, my father thanks you, and I thank you, sir.

  6. Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4
    year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She put the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back!
    LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  7. You truly make it look very easy with the powerpoint presentation even so in finding this particular theme to get actually an element that I think I would personally under no circumstances fully grasp. It appears to be also complicated and incredibly vast for me personally. I’m looking forward to a person’s up coming upload, I’ll make an effort to obtain the dangle than me!

  1. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "invisible" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

