3:10 to Yuma (1957)

IMDB

(Delmer Daves, 1957)

When compared to the 2007 remake, I found this version a bit more satisfying since the storytelling was much simpler and the lead performances weren’t marred by an awful ending.

I think they’re both credible films, but I found the direction in the original, as well as the black-and-white cinematography, stunning and never overblown. Also, the acting here is allowed center stage. Glenn Ford, cast against type, does a remarkable turn as the outlaw Ben Wade and Van Heflin is more convincing than his modern counterpart, Christian Bale, AKA the current owner of the Best-Actor-of-Our-Generation title.

I think I’ll stick with the ’57 version. Maybe I’m old-fashioned, and maybe I’ve got a chip on my shoulder about Hollywood continuing to produce direct remakes of classic movies. In this case, at least the 2007 film was decent and inspired me (and perhaps others) to seek out the original.

3.5/5.0

Posted on July 28, 2008, in Film log and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey Patrick, I’m glad that the remake (which I thought was okay enough) got you to check out the original (one of my favorite westerns). I hope that’s the case with more moviegoers.

    I agree about the ending of the remake: didn’t like it, turned the whole thing to a crashing mess. The ending of the original was so much better.

Leave a Reply

