Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story

IMDB

(2007, Jake Kasdan)

Probably the tautest movie from ApatowCo in the last few years. That said, it isn’t exactly GOOD.

I love John C. Reilly, but apparently, not as a lead actor. He works his tail off, but doesn’t deliver the laughs he did in a supporting role in Talledega Nights, another Judd Apatow production.

Reilly’s co-star, Jenna Fischer, from TV’s “The Office”, seems lost here – I’m still not convinced she’s a movie actress. (There I go again, pissing off friends from MySpace…) Only the veteran character actors deliver consistently, particularly Jane Lynch and Tim Meadows.

I don’t believe it’s entirely Reilly’s fault, though, since the driving force behind this picture is to spoof rock-and-roll biopics. While the genre’s ripe for spoofing, I feel it doesn’t go far enough. It just ain’t Airplane, Blazing Saddles or even Top Secret. I’m reasonably certain it’s better than Meet the Spartans, but really, is that saying anything?

Also, for a parody about musicians, the spoof songs aren’t terribly well-written, except for perhaps the title track. Director Jake Kasdan has done better work (Zero Effect, The TV Set), so maybe this picture is the result of the producers or the studio. There’s an overall hastiness to the finished piece that suggests bigwig meddling.

1.5/5.0

Posted on June 11, 2008, in Film log and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ahhh, now I get it. When I saw your banner I thought, “What the hoo?” Then I realized that must be Dewey’s disco days. Right? Wrong?

  2. Ding, ding! You are correct.

    I like to update the banner occasionally with movies next in my queue, sort of like “coming attractions”.

    If you’re ever in doubt (and so inclined), I update the ABOUT page with the info from the current banner. I used to update the blog copy, but it just made more sense to put the info in a static place that I could alter.

    This site is constantly in flux. I also am working on updating the Films Seen 2004-Present page to include links to reviews, etc. posted here, as well as updating my blogroll.

    Which reminds me, I need to add you! I’m off!

Leave a Reply

