The Italian Job (1969)

IMDB

(1969, Peter Collinson)

Pluses:

  • The Mini Cooper chase scene makes the movie.
  • The finale is classic.
  • Noel Coward gets a dream role.
  • Michael Caine looks great.
  • It’s fun to say the “bloody doors off” line.

Minuses:

  • The supporting characters have no personality whatsoever.
  • The main characters get no development whatsoever.
  • The build-up to the heist – done so well in other movies (see Soderbergh’s Ocean’s 11) – seems perfunctory and half-baked, because we’re allowed no insight into the heist’s complexity.
  • It might be bested by its own 2003 remake.

2.5/5.0

Posted on June 2, 2008, in Film log and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Ahem. “You’re only supposed to blow the bloody doors off!” Hee, that is fun to say.

    So what happens to Professor Peache? He just disappears.

  2. I guess he gets picked up for molesting a large woman, but as I mentioned, it’s not like he gets much to do anyway.

    I actually picked this up on your 5-star recommendation. You owe me 2.5 stars, Stennie. ;)

  3. Bah. The ending makes up for all the weaknesses, in my mind! I’ll see if I can spare you 2.5 stars from somewhere. I’m still reeling from your startling admission that you’ve never seen It Happened One Night. I don’t think it’s the be-all, end-all of screwball comedy as many do, but I sure thought everyone in the world had seen it by now.

Leave a Reply

