Get thee behind me, November

800px-car-sidemirror.jpg

Gave myself a lot to accomplish by the end of the month. Let’s recap.

1. NaBloPoMo: Posted at least once per day during Nov. Didn’t win shit.

nablopomo07_2.jpg

Ah well. It was a great exercise, and I’m glad I was able to see it through, even though it was really tricky at times. Can’t imagine how someone can write a novel in a month.

Next year, I’ve got to have a little more structure to the thing. Felt like sometimes I was just posting to post, which isn’t really my style. On the other hand, it did free me up to try some new things here and remind myself that it’s just a blog, not a term paper. That is, unless someone realllllly feels like slapping a grade on this sucker.

2. NaNoReMo: Kept the pace on Catch-22 until right around Thanksgiving. Then I fell off the wagon. Too much going on – work and holiday-wise. But I still plan to finish it.

Right now I’m through 24 chapters (59.375%) of the book. How can I stop now? Also, I’ve got the DVD sitting on my shelf upon completion. I don’t like looking at the impressive cast listing though, mostly because, among others, I can’t picture Jon Voight as Milo. I plan to finish Catch-22 by the end of the year. Call it NaNoReTwoMo.

3. Top 1000 films project: Finished my latest assignment with City Lights with about 2 hours to go in the month. I’ve taken the liberty of checking on Netflix availability before creating a new assignment, so I don’t run into the problem I had with securing Sunrise and Pather Panchali. I’ve marked the Top 1000 page with No Netflix or Netflix – Instant View (ooh – convenient) where applicable. And without further ado, the new assigment.

Due February 29, 2008:

  1. #23 La Dolce Vita (Fellini, 1960) – Really think this should be a breeze, so I’ll save it.
  2. #37 The Gold Rush (Chaplin, 1925) – A nice breather. And already on the DVR!
  3. #47 Ugetsu (Mizoguchi, 1953) – Lots of Mizoguchi on this list, and I’ve to start somewhere.
  4. #70 Pickpocket (Bresson, 1959) – See comment above. Replace “Mizoguchi” with “Bresson.”
  5. #126 Broken Blossoms (Griffith, 1919) – Instant View, baby! Get me through this Griffith!
  6. #192 The Life and Death of Colonel Blimp (Powell/Pressburger, 1943) – On the DVR. Thanks, TCM.

5-6 films per quarter from this daunting list seems to be the way to attack it. Some of these flicks are just too heavy/long/important to just plow right through. These films need to be digested over time – some would say a lifetime.

4. I’m also planning on continuing a few newish features that I started this November. I will be supplying more Filmspotting Top Five Plus One lists as well as a new report on The Amazing Race 12 this week. And if something really catches my eye on YouTube/Google Video/whatever, I’ll throw it up here too.

I took a few days off, but I’m ready to blog some more. Thanks for reading, and send me any feedback/suggestions you’ve got.

Posted on December 4, 2007, in Books, Top 1000 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I adore La Dolce Vita, but I don’t know if I could consider it “a breeze.” You have some goodies coming up, including this, Gold Rush and Col. Blimp. I am not Griffith’s biggest fan (read: “I hate hime”) so Broken Blossoms is not a fave. Pickpocket and Ugetsu are two I need to see myself.

  2. Yr right, “breeze” is the wrong term. However, I’ve generally been able to enjoy Fellini on a pure entertainment level, while also appreciating the work. And I consider it breeze-like to anything by Griffith.

  3. True, a 3-hour Fellini is preferable to me than a 20-minute Griffith (not that Griffith made anything that was 20 minutes! Would that he had). Broken Blossoms does have a fairly suspenseful scene regarding a closet. I won’t say more for fear of spoiling the only good thing in the movie.

Leave a Reply

