Black Friday

Mall Zombies

No, I wasn’t busting down doors at 4 A.M. trying to beat my fellow consumer to the hottest, greatest thing since last year’s sliced bread. But I did do some shopping online today, because I really do try to avoid the malls at all costs. Except for the yearly trip to see the big guy in the red suit – that’s a given.

Unfortunately, try as I might, I can never seem to convince anyone in our gift exchange to volunteer time or donate to charity instead of exchanging meaningless gifts every year.

So, while I’m not on the same page with Morgan Spurlock’s latest venture about consumerism or the Adbusters Buy Nothing Day campaign, I do intend to put a little something extra towards a worthwhile cause.

Maybe this holiday season, you could do the same. And remember to give wisely.

[Image: Dawn of the Dead (Romero, 1978)]

Posted on November 23, 2007, in The real world and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I think giving to organizations this time of year is a lot more “Christmasey” than participating in the ritual that is Black Friday. Good for you. :)

Leave a Reply

