The happiest place in your earbuds

junglebook01.jpg

If you don’t have kids, you can’t possibly know the damage that bad children’s music can inflict upon you and your loved ones. Let’s just say that the Wiggles don’t want to encounter my wife in a dark alley. Her motto is basically “Just because it’s marketed for kids doesn’t mean it’s good for them.” No joke, she’d kill Dora the Explorer with her bare hands if she weren’t fictional.

During the process of actually getting my son to sit through an entire movie (The Jungle Book in two sittings), I was thrilled to sing along with the movie to “The Bear Necessities” and “I Wanna Be Like You.” Basically, it’s just a way to add to the repertoire of “Wheels on the Bus” and “I’ve Been Workin’ on the Railroad.” Note: this does NOT mean we’ll be tuning into that god-awful Radio Disney any time soon.

Imagine my excitement when Boing Boing featured this gem of a site: Covering the Mouse, a site full of Disney covers. Now, I can play my son some Dave Brubeck Quartet, LL Cool J, Siouxsie and the Banshees or Sun Ra and call it kid-friendly.

Another victory for cynical, too-hip-for-the-room parenting!

Posted on November 21, 2007, in Music, The real world, Web and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Somewhere I have a nice cover of Robbie Fulks doing “When I See an Elephant Fly” from Dumbo. You can hear it here:

    [audio src="http://www.stennieville.com/audio/RF-Elephant_Fly.mp3" /]

  2. Stennie:

    Robbie’s a local guy for us. But I haven’t heard this cover. When I get home, I’ll take a listen.

    I just found out the most amazing news which I’m sure you’ll enjoy…

    Nicolas and Donald from TAR 12 are the son and father-in-law of the one and only Robbie Fulks.

    How do you like that.

Leave a Reply

