Nutshelling November

walnut.jpg

Top 1000 Movies project:

Netflix just isn’t going to get the Sunrise or Pather Panchali in time for my November 30th deadline. Rather than admit defeat, I’ve chosen two other movies to take their place. Two Chaplin movies, City Lights and Modern Times, ought to fill the void nicely. They’re both a zippy 90 minutes and will have enough humor to keep these last few weeks manageable.

Watched All About Eve. And, of course, it’s a classic. Five stars. It seems to catch the real Bette Davis, too, which is somewhat uncomfortable yet thrilling to watch. George Sanders as Addison DeWitt rocks my lame ass.

Other movies seen this month:

  • 11/7: Nowhere (Gregg Araki, 1997) 1.0 ~ I know it’s camp, but isn’t camp supposed to be fun? I just don’t think Araki is for me.
  • 11/4: When a Stranger Calls (Simon West, 2006) 1.0 ~ The remake of the Halloween ripoff unfortunately fails at the core: it’s not that scary.
  • 11/2: Zazie dans le métro (Louis Malle, 1960) 2.5 ~ Wow, this one’s out there. Not sure what any of it means, but if you like experimental films, it’s worth a look.

Coming next: The Host, as seen by my new header. Incidentally, I’ve added the header info to my About page, because it didn’t seem to fit in with constantly changing blog entries.

Catch-22 (NaNoReMo):

Finally finished Chapter 10 (Major Major Major Major), which brought my reading to an abrupt halt. I’ll post a separate update soon. On a decidedly related note, my copy of Catch-22 via Bookins STILL has yet to arrive (sent Oct. 21), and I’m depending on the copy I’ve borrowed from my local library. However, as of this morning, it’s now in the same state as me. Things are looking up.

NaBloPoMo:

Not that anyone’s been paying attention, but I’ve posted every day of the month so far. However, come December, I think I’ll need a break. I’m not used to generating this much content, and some of it is rather silly. Luckily, not many are reading since the Internets are vast and mapless. Might as well by Emily Dickinson’s less talented brother, plugging away in solitude.

Also, even though blog visits are up, not a single comment posted for a November entry. Maybe I need more Britney Spears references. To date, my most popular post, the highly inaccurate news item of Kate Beckinsale being pegged to play Barberella. Maybe it’s because it’s Kate Beckinsale, maybe it’s because I mention Duran Duran in the post as well.

Oh well, they’ll all pay attention when I claim one of those delicious NaBlo prizes. Alas, many of them are girly in nature, but Xmas is coming, and I’ve got some girls on my shopping list.

Speaking of which, I’ve got to add to my Xmas wish list, and start shopping for others. The first week of November has gone by so quickly, and soon, it will be over. Okay, back to work.

Posted on November 8, 2007, in Books, Film log, Top 1000, Web and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

