November is for Joiners

Lemmings

Because I’ve been so lax in updating this blog (crossing off titles from the Top 1,000 Movies really don’t count), I’ve decided to really start padding this blog with fluff join in the fun of NaNoReMo or National Novel Reading Month as a response to those of us who could never probably write a novel in 30 days.

Matthew Baldwin, AKA Defective Yeti, has thrown the gauntlet to anyone who wishes to join him in reading Catch-22 during the month of November as part of a big-ass online book club. Mostly, I’m joining in because I loved the book the first time, but that was 20 years ago. I’ve wanted to re-read it and perhaps get a different perspective on the novel.

I’ve got the book coming to me via Bookins.com, but time’s-a-wastin’ and I fear it may not come by Nov. 1. So, via Peerflix, I’ve also requested the movie, in the event I have to pull the old Constanza-Breakfast-at-Tiffany’s trick.

While I’m at it, I also decided to join in on Eden Kennedy’s NaBloPoMo or National Blog Posting Month. I’ll probably be adding comments about Catch-22 as well as other pithy crap about life, movies and Lindsay Lohan. I figure 30 days of constantly updating the blog won’t be too cumbersome or difficult, considering I don’t think I’ve had 30 entries this year so far.

Also, the latest deadline for my Top 1000 Movies project is due November 30th, too. And Netflix STILL doesn’t have two of the six films I pledged to watch. Depending on their availability and the madness of trying to accomplish all this stuff while pottytraining my son, I may need to consider dropping the missing two or replacing them with two movies more readily available.

See, already, I’m making excuses.

Maybe I’m getting in over my head. But November (other than Thanksgiving week) seems to be relatively open, so I’ll give it a whirl. Wish me luck.

Posted on October 26, 2007, in Books, Top 1000, Web and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

