M.I.A.

[New header: Viggo Mortensen and the lovely Naomi Watts in Eastern Promises. Couldn’t find a still of one of the 38 throat-cutting scenes in the flick. Just didn’t grab me like it did the audiences at the Toronto International Film Festival. Viggo is amazing in it, though, and worth the price of admission. Gosh, is that a review? Haven’t seen the likes of that around these parts lately.]

I picked my latest assignment of Top 1000 movies based on their availability through Netflix. Turns out now that Netflix doesn’t have a couple of the flicks I need to complete my assignment:

  1. #11 Sunrise (Murnau, 1927) – not available on Netflix.
  2. #16 L’Atalante (Vigo, 1934) – in queue.
  3. #42 Pather Panchali (Ray, 1955) – not available on Netflix.
  4. #74 All about Eve (Mankiewicz, 1950) – in queue.
  5. #87 Once Upon a Time in the West (Leone, 1968) – I own it.
  6. #134 The Grapes of Wrath (Ford, 1940) – in queue.

In the words of Fred Willard in A Mighty Wind: Wha’ happen?

Renters lost the discs? The discs are worn and/or damaged and are being replaced? No mention on Netflix.

All I know is my list suddenly got trickier to complete. I’m not desperate yet, because these shouldn’t be TOO hard to find. Luckily I’ve got access to some pretty good libraries and video stores if I need them. Hopefully I won’t have to re-choose more flicks, because I don’t need excuses to skip these films and drop $10 for crap like Good Luck Chuck. That’s the reason I’m making myself watch these classics – because if I don’t, who on earth will?

Posted on October 1, 2007, in Film log, Top 1000 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

