Glossing over the past

Because I don’t have time to or feel like recapping movies I’ve seen over the last few weeks, here’s the quickie version:

  • 8/14: Nuovo Cinema Paradiso (Giuseppe Tornatore, 1989) 3.0 ~ If you love movies, there’s a piece of this for you. But my God, did it get sloooow toward the end. Thank goodness it wasn’t the new 170 minute version.
  • 8/14: Mysterious Skin (Gregg Araki, 2004) 2.5 ~ Good for Araki, which tells you what I generally think of his movies.
  • 8/13: Raw Deal (Anthony Mann, 1948) 4.5 ~ Sweet and dark. A great Mann noir.
  • 8/11: Mr. Smith Goes to Washington (Frank Capra, 1939) 4.0 ~ Capra gets a bad rap for oversentimentality. But there’s some dark stuff at play here, what with private business controlling Senators and manipulation of the press, et al. Also, Jean Arthur is quite good here, better than in The Devil and Miss Jones.
  • 8/8: Angels with Dirty Faces (Michael Curtiz, 1938) 3.5 ~ Cagney is great, but I grew utterly tired of the Dead End Kids schtick.
  • 8/6: Don’t Look Back (D.A. Pennebaker, 1967) 3.0 ~ For once I agree with Ebert, Bob Dylan acts like a spoiled brat, and I didn’t really enjoy watching it.
  • 8/4: The Thin Man (W.S. Van Dyke, 1934) 3.0 ~ Slight, but funny.
  • 7/30: The World’s Fastest Indian (Roger Donaldson, 2005) 3.0 ~ Has the makings of a great CBS Movie of the Week, if they still made those.
  • 7/26: The Matador (Richard Shepard, 2005) 2.5
  • 7/26: The World of Henry Orient (George Roy Hill, 1964) 2.5
  • 7/22: /River’s Edge/ (Tim Hunter, 1987) 2.0

If anyone cares for more discussion, leave a comment.

Posted on August 16, 2006, in Film log. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’ll always hate Cinema Paradiso simply for the fact that it played forever at The Prytania Theater in New Orleans, delaying the arrival of Peter Greenaway’s The Cook, the Thief, His Wife and Her Lover, which I REALLY wanted to see at the time.

  2. Yeah, the movie is undeserving of all of the praise, but it’s decent enough. And I understand your personal vengeance against the flick. When I was growing up, the nearest arthouse was an hour away, so I grew up embittered at theater chains rather than individual movies. If only Netflix had been around in my teens and twenties…

  3. Yeah, kids today are SO lucky and they don’t even realize it. Digital cable, Netflix, BitTorrent, etc. Of course, if these things had been around in the eighties when I was a teenager, I would have done even less schoolwork than I did, which wasn’t much.

Leave a Reply

